10 powerful weapons of Goddess Durga

Goddess Durga with divine weapons

10 powerful weapons in 10 hands – “self-reliant”

Goddess Durga’s ten weapons are not just instruments of destruction but powerful tools for cosmic balance and spiritual awakening. They remind us that true strength lies not only in physical might but also in the wisdom, compassion, and righteousness that Durga embodies. As we delve deeper into the stories of this divine warrior, we uncover profound lessons that continue to inspire and uplift us to this day.

Goddess Durga’s ten hands contain metaphorical weapons, not traditional weapons, which can enhance mental strength. These practices remove darkness and intemperance, moving towards light and good.

10 powerful weapons of divine strength: The Divine Arsenal of Goddess Durga
10 powerful weapons of divine strength: The Divine Arsenal of Goddess Durga

What are the weapons in the 10 hands of Goddess Durga?

Trishul (Trident) :

It represents the three fundamental qualities of existence – purity, activity, and inertia. In Durga’s hands, it signifies her ability to maintain cosmic order and destroy evil forces.

Chakra (Discus)  :

The chakra is a reminder that everything in existence eventually returns to its source. With this weapon, Durga can cut through ignorance and delusion.

Shankha (Conch Shell):

lt symbolizes the primordial sound of creation, Aum. When blown, it resonates with the divine frequency, awakening the person’s spirit and invoking the presence of the inner goddess.

Kharga (Sword):

Which represents the power to cut through falsehood and ignorance. It is a reminder that truth will always prevail, even in the face of adversity.

Gada (Mace):

It signifies the force of righteousness and moral order. Durga uses it to crush the wicked and uphold justice.

Parashu (Battle-axe):

Represents the divine ability to sever attachments and free the soul from the cycle of birth and death.

Bow and Arrow:

Symbolize focus and precision. Durga’s aim is unerring, and she uses it to harness the latent power within us all and unleash it for good.

Sula (Lance):

Signifies the power of concentration and determination. With it, Durga pierces the hearts of her devotees, awakening their inner strength.

The  lotus :

Red lotus bud that Durga is holding in her right hand is a symbol that she will make it bloom by eliminating negativity.

The Vajra (thunderbolt):

It signifies firmness of character, determination, and supreme power. It enables her to stay completely focused while destroying enemies – as a thunderbolt.

Durga, a goddess known for her protection from calamities, arrived to address the growing demonic instincts that had destroyed the peace of the gods, as described in scriptures. That is, the letter ‘D’ destroys demons, U – destroys obstacles, Ref destroys diseases, letter ‘G’ destroys sin and A – destroys enemies. Taken together, it means that Durga is the one who protects from demons, disturbances, diseases, sins and enemies.

Read more content in Bengali

More Posts

We really appreciate your insight on this topic.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

7 days of exquisite artistic creation – Goddess Durga festival Fascinating Bhai Phota – Feast for siblings Dasakarma – Life and livelihood of Bengal 38 years of Awards for Kolkata Durga puja – Asian paints Sharad Shamman 10 powerful weapons of divine strength : Goddess Durga 6 Ways to Eat Phuchka